Author Archives: mrmjones

World Book Week

This week we have been celebrating world book week, we got to make are very own pop up books about aliens and space!P2120438 P2120439

So far we have made pop up aliens and rockets!P2120425 P2120427 P2120432

What else could we make pop out of are books?P2120437

MONSTERS!

Today we had monsters in our classroom.

P2110988

We were able to invite parents in and create our very own monsters, they were really scary!

P2110972

With a little bit of science we were able to make our monsters foam out of their mouths!

 

 

 

This is why…

Vinegar (an acid ) and bicarbonate of soda ( an alkali ) react together to neutralise each other. This reaction releases carbon dioxide, a gas which is the bubbles you see, these bubbles make the washing up liquid bubble up to give the reaction shown above.

This week is science week!

To start us off this week we had specials guests in assembly, MAD Science!

Mad Science

P2110928 P2110930

They put on a magic show for us, but we found out it was just science not magic!

We then got a special show in Team 5: ‘Mission nutrition.’

P2110936 P2110940

What are some of the things you found out? Do you remember the food groups?

Anti-bullying week.

On Monday we got to watch a play called ‘sticks and stones’. P2120301 300x225 Anti Bullying Week

On Friday, we released a balloon to send out the powerful message that we are stamping out bullying at Charlestown.┬áHere are some quotes from the class…

“I learnt that bullying can hurt lots of people”

P2110910

“Being a bully is wrong

P2110911

“Hitting isn’t the only type of bullying”

P2110909

What else did you find out during anti-bullying week?

Here are some useful animal websites…

Marwell Zoo http://www.marwell.org.uk/zoo_guide/encyclopaedia.asp?css=1 click on a letter of the alphabet & then choose an animal

 

Chester Zoo http://www.chesterzoo.org/ click on Animals link, then choose an animal

 

London Zoo http://www.zsl.org/zsl-london-zoo/animals/ click on one of the animals groups down the left hand side of the page

 

Whipsnade Zoo http://www.zsl.org/zsl-whipsnade-zoo/meet-the-animals/all/ click on an animal

 

Bristol Zoo http://www.bristolzoo.org.uk/learning/animals click on one of the animal groups on the left hand side of the page

 

Colchester Zoo http://www.colchester-zoo.com/explore/to-see/animals choose an animal from the list

 

Paignton Zoo http://www.paigntonzoo.org.uk/animals click on a letter of the alphabet & then choose an animal

 

Dublin Zoo http://www.dublinzoo.ie/9/Animal-Guide.aspx click on an animal group & then choose an animal